St Killian’s Clinch Fontenoys’ Cup

St Killian’s Garron Tower 4-9 St Louis Ballymena 1-4

St Killian’s Garron Tower lifted the Liatroim Fontenoys’ Cup for the first time after a power-packed display in Quinn Park Ballymena on Saturday.

And it was their captain Sinéad Cosgrove that was the stand-out player in the final.  Despite being double-marked she was able to gain plenty of possession and burst through for scores, while sister Dervla also worked hard in the centre of the attack.

Their defence was only troubled during the last quarter, when St Louis tagged on 1-3, but the contest was over by that stage. Leah Cosgrove, Annie Leech and Niamh McKendry stood out at the back with Tierna Carson probably edging a tight midfield.

The losers fought hard – Emma and Jane McAleese, Roisin Kelly and Dearbhail Elliott providing most resistance – but they were always searching for a foothold in the game.

Sinéad Convery turned to shoot the opening goal in the second minute and her second goal, coming in the 24th minute following good work from Tierna Carson and Niamh McKendry, made the half-time score 2-6 to 0-1.

All six points were delivered by Sinead Cosgrove and she added another at the start of the second half, as St Killian’s moved in for the kill.

Tierna Carson’s angled goal clinched the game soon after, while Sinead Convery completed her hat-trick in the 38th minute.

There was fight in Ballymena with Sorcha Conlan crashing home a goal and Dearbhail Elliott and Ciara Dobbin pointing, but these proved to be consolation scores as time ran out on them.

St Killian’s : Sarah Kane, Hannah McLoughlin, Leah Cosgrove, Annie Leech, Niamh McKendry, Hannah Okasha, Clodagh McKillop, Tierna Carson 1-0, Claire Kearney 0-1, Aisling Mulvenna, Dervla Cosgrove, Mary Kane, Sinéad Convery 3-0, Sinéad Cosgrove capt. 0-8, 0-4 frees, Dara Martin.

Subs : Shauna Murray for H McLoughlin, Natasha Dempster for D Martin, Michelle Ward for M Kane, Siobhán McKillop for A Leech, Aimee McDonnell for S Convery, Eimhear Carey, Clodagh McAllister, Jade Bradley, Laoise McKenna, Catherine Marshall, Molly McLaughlin, Fiona McDonnell.

St Louis : Sephora O’Connell, Laura McGarry, Roisin Kelly, Kate Hagan, Una Doherty, Jane McAleese, Anna Gribben, Therese McKinley, Emma McAleese capt., Dearbhail Elliott 0-3, Ciara Dobbin 0-1, Niamh Carberry, Niamh McLernon, Sorcha Conlon 1-0, Leona Traynor.

Subs : Megan Boyle for K Hagan, Eimear Higgins for L Traynor, Eimear McCloskey for U Doherty, Martina O’Kane for N McLarnon.

Referee : Cathair Cunning (Dunloy)

Comments are closed.