St Killian’s complete Back to Back Foresters’ Titles

St Killian’s hold on to Foresters’ Cup

St Killian's celebrate

Danske Bank Foresters’ Cup final

St Killian’s Garron Tower2-9 St Patrick’s Maghera 1-4

After 53 minutes of this really intensely contested Danske Bank Foresters’ Cup final, St Killian’s Garron Tower and St Patrick’s Maghera were locked on 1-4 each.

The Tower then brought their full-forward Christy McNaughton out to centre-half and the Ruairi Ă“g player blasted 5 points, 3 from frees.

He also had a hand in the late goal, laying off a great pass for Matthew Devine to cross and Fergus McCambridge to fire to the Maghera net.

The Derry boys did not deserve to lose by as much. Indeed shortly before McNaughton’s intervention, they had a couple of opportunities to grab the lead. But scores – for either side – were very hard to come by, so ferocious was the tackling.

A point each after the first quarter became 0-2 each with scores from Brian Cassidy and McNaughton, before Ryan Delargy picked out Daniel Haughey for a 23rd minute goal and the Tower led by 1-3 to 0-3 at the turn-over.

After just 4 minutes of the second half, the teams were level once more with Brian Cassidy breaking the tackle and firing low past Patrick Abram.

Over the next 20 minutes only a Corey Beggs’ point from play and a Cassidy free were recorded until McNaughton took centre-stage to hit 0-4 and put his side in command.

McCambridge’s goal sealed the issue and McNaughton fittingly completed the scoring with his eighth point in injury-time.

Ulster Colleges’ Council member Alistar McGilligan presented the new Danske Bank Foresters’ Cup at the end of the game – the old one is being “retired” to the Cardinal Ó Fiaich Library.

St Killian’s therefore have the distinction of being the last name on the old trophy and the first one on the new trophy.

St Killian’s : Patrick Abram, Seamus McAuley, Cathal McKillop, Ronan McKillop, Tom Kerr, Hugh Pat McNeill, Dylan McLoughlin, Corey Beggs 0-1, Niall McNaughton, Matthew Devine, Ryan Delargy, Fergus McCambridge 1-0, Daniel Haughey 1-0, Christy McNaughton 0-8, 0-6 frees, Conor Magee.

Subs : Shane O’Connor for D Haughey (47), Cathal McDonnell for C Magee (59).

St Patrick’s Maghera : Sean Ó Caiside, Conor Kelly, Patrick Turner, Michael McCloskey, Liam O’Hara, Gabriel Farren, Dara McPeake, Eamon McGill 0-1 free, Conor McAllister, Shea Downey, Ciaran Steele, Brian Cassidy 1-3, 0-2 frees, Conor McCrystal, Ciaran McGuigan, Paul McNeill.

Sub : Pauric McNicholl for C McCrystal (24).

Referee : Cathair Cunning (Dunloy



Comments are closed.