Hurlers to contest the MacNamee Cup final

St Killian’s (holders) will play in the Danske Bank MacNamee Cup final against St Patrick’s Maghera (3pm Friday in Maghera) in a repeat of last year’s final.

Danske Bank MacNamee Cup semi-finals

St Killian’s Garron Tower 3-12 Our Lady’s & St Patrick’s Knock 4-6

There will be a repeat of last season’s Danske Bank MacNamee Cup final with St Patrick’s Maghera and holders St Killian’s winning contrasting semi-finals in Ballymena.

The Tower boys were pressed to the pin of their collar by Our Lady’s & St Patrick’s Knock in the first game and found themselves behind by 2-4 to 0-6 at the break with James Clarke, Peter McAreavey, Niall O’Connor and Eoin Pucci all causing problems.

Pucci and full-forward Jarlath McCollum scored the goals and Knock seemed to be in control at the break.

However that was to change inside 60 seconds of the re-start. Colm McKeegan, who had moved from central defence into full-forward grabbed a ball hit in from the throw-in and fired low to the net.

From the puck-out substitute John V Morgan also scored a goal to put St Killian’s into the lead.

McKeegan scored their third goal from a penalty but Knock kept pressing and another goal from Pucci and one from substitute Shea Doran narrowed the gap to a single point with five minutes remaining.

However St Killian’s substitute Conor McAuley won two frees and Colm McKeegan popped them over to see their team back in the decider.

Meanwhile St Patrick’s Maghera beat St Mary’s Belfast quite easily (9-13 to 4-3) and will now be hot favourites to win back the title from St Killian’s.

St Killian’s : C McKeegan 2-3, JV Morgan 1-0, P McKillop 0-3, S McIntosh 0-2, N McGarrell 0-2, S McKenna 0-1, B O’Connor 0-1.

Knock : E Pucci 2-2, J McCollum 1-0, S Doran 1-0, N O’Connor 0-2, J Clarke 0-1, R Corcoran 0-1.


St Killian’s panel : Joe McNaughton, Francis McCormick, Odhran Gillan, Jack Leech, Aidan McSparron, Colm McKeegan, Caolan Lennon, Niall McGarrell, Shane McKenna, Daniel Kearney, Pádraig McKillop, Joshua Schnell, Patrick McIlwaine, Seanie McIntosh, Conor McAuley, John V Morgan, Brogan O’Connor, Ciaran Sharpe, Ben O’Boyle, Michael Quinn, Archie McSparran, Matthew McCann, Ronan Leech, Daniel McAllister, Mark McSparran, Killian McNaughton

Comments are closed.